The Individual’sInfluence

13 Sep

Recently I had a bit of a conversation about ecology and environmental impact around individual’s living locale. The conversation started innocently enough with, “was seafood a common food choice at home”? Of course, that led into, the community I live in today is a fishing community and has been throughout history. Naturally that led into how we went through a total moratorium on commercial fishing industry which naturally has had a dramatic impact on the community.
The conversation continued onto how international communities continued and still do to this day fish the area by twisting political or legal wording to get around the ban. Of course that is big business for you. The armies of lawyers and accountants that school continue to churn out with what I believe are not morally astute individual but one that is armed to win at all cost. I may of course be wrong in my assumption but I also believe that I am not alone in believing that.
Anyway a third person joined our conversation which by this time we had somewhat left the big business outlook on fishing and we were discussing how individuals we observed in our own respective areas which equally abuse the system and the laws set forth. No matter if we believe those laws to be correct or not. This other person proceeded to indicate his views that in no way do the individuals could ever deplete any eco system because of the abundance of nutrients and water flows which nourish that marine life. The damage is caused by big business altering the land to allow vessel traffic up tributaries and meet industry upstream where it’s more cost effective to their markets to set up there.
That changing weather patterns influence more the abundance or depletion of any one species. There was more to it but that is the general highlight. One of the participants in the earlier part of the conversation had pointed out that they had observed how people were uncaring as to the egg carrying crabs, which I’m not sure for the area but, I think it was implied that they should be returned to sea to continue their spawning ritual. The fact that people would not limit themselves to the designated quantity set forth by regulation but would rush to their trucks and return with an empty tank so that if questioned at the boat could argue that they were still at or under their limit.
This is the point where our 3rd individual made the comment that individuals themselves could never deplete the resources.
You know that got me thinking about individuals and group dynamics. How often do we, as I myself, state that the problem lies NOT with ME but with big industry and big business. Although I do believe that those big industries in all of the disciplines can have the most major impact in the least amount of time and perhaps that is why we develop such an attitude.
When I think back on some of the self-improvement tapes I have listened to it always comes down to, “ICANNOT CHANGE YOU, I CAN ONLY CHANGE MYSELF”. I think that this is true as in the past when I have encountered people, which do, or perhaps believe differently than I do, no amount of argument, for or against a point ever changes them. I do however hope that perhaps our discussion might cause a spark to make them think about it; long after the discussion has vanished and perhaps in that way cause someone to change. But the bottom line still remains that, that individual has had to make a conscious effort to create his or her change. You may provide someone with a match but they must strike it and add fuel to start the fire.
I digress a little, but if I return to the initial conversation points, another thought relative to the “ONE” individual’s influence comes to mind. I think to counteract the argument that BIG BUSINESS is the culprit not the individuals, one can reflect on previous statements made here. To put it under a different light, would I want a large sum of money, maybe a million dollars, from any one big business to compensate me, or a dime from every individual in the country? (Since big business services all of the country)
What would you pick? I’m sure this example has been used before and you may be familiar with it. It’s one which “apparently” according to my findings started in China thousands of years ago.
Big business payout = 1 million dollars…in your pocket
USA population (Apr/01/2010) 308.7million one dime from each = 30.87 million dollars…in MY pocket.
How does this relate to the conversation? Well it strikes me that if we, as each individual person change our attitude and way of thinking then we will force big business to change THEIR way of doing business.
Is this likely to happen? Perhaps not in my lifetime, BUT thankfully I see the school primers and younger generation aware of that one issue and “BELIEVE” that it can be done. Maybe you have seen this as well.

Leave a Reply

Letters from Kate

Two people boldly going where everyone has gone before. www.yachtkate.com

Forum of One

Just a place to express my opinions or views

WPShout

Just a place to express my opinions or views

JG-Audio

Company Portfolio

Young Feller Fridays

" New Freestyle or Remix Every Week "

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Letters from Kate

Two people boldly going where everyone has gone before. www.yachtkate.com

Forum of One

Just a place to express my opinions or views

WPShout

Just a place to express my opinions or views

JG-Audio

Company Portfolio

Young Feller Fridays

" New Freestyle or Remix Every Week "

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Letters from Kate

Two people boldly going where everyone has gone before. www.yachtkate.com

Forum of One

Just a place to express my opinions or views

WPShout

Just a place to express my opinions or views

JG-Audio

Company Portfolio

Young Feller Fridays

" New Freestyle or Remix Every Week "

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

