Drive to the cottage

10 Oct

In the past few weeks I have been doing a lot of work around the house and trying to get things ready for winter. It’s a never ending process and one that I seldom complete. There is always something left undone. For which I more often than not receive somewhat of a grievous chastising from my better half.
Anyway during one of my jobs I needed to drive to our cottage which is approximately 2-3 hours away depending on how you drive and the Tim Horton stops you make. On this particular day as everybody else was tied up with other family duties, since this was our Thanksgiving week-end I decided to drive up to the cottage by myself and close it up for the winter. My wife was working at the hospital anyway so I would have been alone regardless.
Since it’s been a while that I listened to my audio tapes I thought, great opportunity to listen to a new download I had recently picked up…Creative Minds by Ernest Holmes. I must say I found it very stimulating and listened to it again on the way back home. It did give me a reason to write another article which I titled “Why God Does Not Intervene” you can read it if you wish from my blog uploads.https://dl.dropbox.com/u/19327951/GodIntervention.pdf
As well as provoking many thoughts I resurrected some old ones as well. It reminded me of the monkey trial(1) which took place in Tennessee. My thoughts in this was how unfortunate that we as humans waste (I think) so much time and effort over trivialities. How much better off we would be, if we stopped being so hard and regimented in our beliefs?
As I listened to my audio file, not that it made any references to the Monkey Trial, but in my mind I thought really what difference does it Really make if God put us on the earth or in the universe for that matter, in one whisper of His Word or whether He caused us to evolve from single cell organisms. In the end the product is the same…..WE EXIST….I mean to God what is a million years or more of development ….but a yawn in His plan….
Anyway I guess it’s not something that I will answer for myself with any certainty soon but needless to say my life quest continues. Perhaps a bit deep subject matter for my blog here but as I stated in the very beginning I will use this space to put some ideas and thoughts out there. It seems that I have had many of them for years now. I think it is true, that as you write things down it helps to digest its contents and leaves you feeling a bit more at ease….at least for the most part.
Please feel free…..to leave a comment of what you think….. Or ask a question to which I’m sure I can conjure up some response as soon as possible

(1)Wikipedia-The Scopes Trial, formally known as The State of Tennessee v. John Thomas Scopes and commonly referred to as the Scopes Monkey Trial, was a famous American legal case in 1925 in which a high school science math teacher, John Scopes, was accused of violating Tennessee’s Butler Act, which made it unlawful to teach evolution in any state-funded school.The trial was deliberately staged in order to attract publicity to the small town of Dayton, Tennessee, where it was held. Scopes was unsure whether he had ever actually taught evolution, but he purposefully incriminated himself so that the case could have a defendant.

Leave a Reply

Letters from Kate

Two people boldly going where everyone has gone before. www.yachtkate.com

Forum of One

Just a place to express my opinions or views

WPShout

Just a place to express my opinions or views

JG-Audio

Company Portfolio

Young Feller Fridays

" New Freestyle or Remix Every Week "

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Letters from Kate

Two people boldly going where everyone has gone before. www.yachtkate.com

Forum of One

Just a place to express my opinions or views

WPShout

Just a place to express my opinions or views

JG-Audio

Company Portfolio

Young Feller Fridays

" New Freestyle or Remix Every Week "

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Letters from Kate

Two people boldly going where everyone has gone before. www.yachtkate.com

Forum of One

Just a place to express my opinions or views

WPShout

Just a place to express my opinions or views

JG-Audio

Company Portfolio

Young Feller Fridays

" New Freestyle or Remix Every Week "

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

