Reality TV?

10 Dec

Reality TV?

What is it about so called “Reality TV” programs on TV that draw people so much? Certainly it cannot be because spectators believe that what they are seeing is in truth reality? I can see why the program participants are on there.  They like so many want to be discovered and make loads of money.  They agree to participate as a kind of rags to riches scenario. That I understand, but what I don’t get is the audience’s feverous hunger for the programs. I hear discussions on the street or amongst family members about their attachment to this series or that one.  I almost want to believe that some truly believe that what they are watching is un-orchestrated and live. Can people really be so banal?

Several years ago, a program, which I did watch to some extent for the first season, was the “American Idol”. In the first season, it certainly appeared that many contestants had talent, as do the new contestant of today’s program but in the initial broadcasting it seemed that they had literally come from the streets of obscurity. The program was new and certainly not a household word as it is today. A curtain call for the first program although created long lines did not create the frenzy that it does today. What I watched was young people singing their heart out and certainly many had too much heart for one person. Of course you could pick out those with less heart but too much attitude. But during the entire program it was contestants up front and center and the judges in the back seat.

My problem these days with American Idol program for one is that, it appears to me the emphasis is no longer primarily on the struggling unknown contestant singing his heart out. Certainly each contestant is desperately trying to get that ever-elusive break but the program focus now appears to be more on the judges themselves and who is fighting with whom?  Now the programming seems to go out of its way to get more and more outrageous and boisterous judges as they can.

Some time ago as I was surfing the TV and I seen an ad outlining a possible new judge under consideration for the show; Howard Stern. Howard Stern?

I am sorry but although I understand that he is in the entertainment industry I fail to see, by what I know of him, and I must admit I do not follow him but also recognize that he has been dropped by more than enough station due to his programming choices. How could he be regarded as a judge candidate for someone’s singing ability is beyond me?  What I can see however, is how much controversy he would bring to the program. That of course seems to be a ruse to increase viewership.  What will happen now with the judges seems to be the question, not who will sing best.

I do not watch the reality programs often but inevitably I come across one or two whenever I surf the channels.  Every time I am never disappointed in that the format has not changed…It remains outrageous and let’s see who can do the dumbest thing……

As a result my protest is to refuse to watch any of them….not to mention that my snide remarks irritates my wife to no end when I am home and she may be following one or the other.

How can contestants be so needy for approval and allow themselves, to be so ridiculed on public television. There are so many of these programs now that it is getting more and more difficult to find something decent to watch…..revives the whole idea of reading a good book and let the author stimulate my imagination.

Leave a Reply

Forum of One

Just a place to express my opinions or views

WPShout

Just a place to express my opinions or views

JG-Audio

Company Portfolio

Young Feller Fridays

" New Freestyle or Remix Every Week "

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Forum of One

Just a place to express my opinions or views

WPShout

Just a place to express my opinions or views

JG-Audio

Company Portfolio

Young Feller Fridays

" New Freestyle or Remix Every Week "

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Forum of One

Just a place to express my opinions or views

WPShout

Just a place to express my opinions or views

JG-Audio

Company Portfolio

Young Feller Fridays

" New Freestyle or Remix Every Week "

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

