Blogging a year later

27 Jan

Well it’s been near enough a year since I first started to blog in earnest. How has that worked for me? I must say I am quite satisfied of my achievements as a first go around. As in all things there is much more to learn and to paraphrase motivational speakers Mr. Don Tappscott and Mr. Anthony Williams in their book Wikinomics,http://www.wikinomics.com/blog/ the world is changing and technology has linked humanity in a way as never before in human history. One needs to learn it and adapt to it or face the prospect of personal irrelevance.
It is true that the web with all of its social networking, sites blogging, and access to information that we are more socially different today then our parents ever thought possible. Our work environments have forever changed and one’s ability to quickly access and process information will make anyone a force to be reckoned with. No longer are tasks so much assigned as they are taken up by individuals. Where once major corporations held fast to proprietary technology and data that today is seeing individuals surpass the obstacles with open collaboration.
People are inextricably linked today and the trend can only go to more rather than less. For sure in my own mind I believe that people perhaps share more than they should in the social media. Perhaps that is the transitional development from an older generation to the transitional generation to the up and coming one. One group does not fully understand what happens when the send button is depressed or what does posting something really mean, or what does it mean to navigate a secure site. The other group’s familiarity with each little functional icon which has a life of its own and they think nothing of broadcasting their location on their phone so their friends can know that they are nearby and can meet for coffee. They give little thought to the thief that equally can see that they are no longer at home or in the vicinity. Or equally believe that their transactions online are as private or free of prying eyes and ears as a transaction done as a sole client at the store counter.
The electronic footprint that each of us leave as we navigate the web for whatever reason and for as benign a reason as we might think remains to be something that we all will need to contend with in time to come. What impact all of this technology will eventually have remains to be discovered and I think thankfully our governments, or at least not yet, will they be the architects to determine how it will all be used. As proof I offer the various sites that one can today navigate which will indicate the residence of convicted criminals or pedophiles. Certainly this is not something that any government social worker would openly wish to advertise in their never ending belief that they can be re-habilitated. Maybe they can, but I would wager it is information that every mother with small children for sure is glad to know. No longer can the slick talker in a fancy suit sell his snake oil to the informed consumer who can today with the help of the consumer advocate groups or individual blogger sites or chat lines, openly advertise a warning of their own experience. Will there be abuses of the system is without question and the old adage of buyer beware remains one of our best defenses. Today we can access more data to make up our own minds and perhaps sometime too much information can be just as disastrous.
I started my blog which naturally I wish had more followers, but I believe that it will come with time and as I learn to better advertise myself. It has allowed me to share with some at least thoughts and opinions and in some ways help me to reflect why people sometimes behave the way that they do. It has also caused to me to be more aware of my surroundings and to research and or read or listen more deeply to politicians, predominate social leaders or to be saddened by the banality of where some of our entertainment media has gone.
As a follow up to my first published article Investment, I wrote the matting update Investment a year later what dividends?, as a reflection one year later. Both can be downloaded by following the link or by choosing either one in my “Article” heading at the top of this blog.

Leave a Reply

Forum of One

Just a place to express my opinions or views

WPShout

Just a place to express my opinions or views

JG-Audio

Company Portfolio

Young Feller Fridays

" New Freestyle or Remix Every Week "

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Forum of One

Just a place to express my opinions or views

WPShout

Just a place to express my opinions or views

JG-Audio

Company Portfolio

Young Feller Fridays

" New Freestyle or Remix Every Week "

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Forum of One

Just a place to express my opinions or views

WPShout

Just a place to express my opinions or views

JG-Audio

Company Portfolio

Young Feller Fridays

" New Freestyle or Remix Every Week "

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

